Bukidnon Paglaum Party has chosen a Second District congressional candidate

Local political party Bukidnon Paglaum Party (BPP) has reportedly chosen their candidate for the Bukidnon Second District Congressional seat for the 2022 National Elections.

Indigenous People Mandatory Representative (IPMR) Board Member Datu Richard Dinlayan Macas has reportedly been chosen as the Zubiri-led BPP’s Second District congressional bet. Bukidnon 2nd District is comprised of the City of Malaybalay and the municipalities of San Fernando, Cabanglasan, Lantapan and Impasugong.

Bukidnon 3rd District Congressman and BPP head Manuel “Manoy” Zubiri exclusively told BukidnonOnline.com that “BPP is supporting SP Richard Dinlayan Macas for 2nd District Representative because we want IP representation in Congress just like the time of Assemblyman Aqui Dinlayan circa 1984.”


“SP Dinlayan Macas is very well qualified for the job,” Manoy Zubiri said.

  • Photo of SP Macas courtesy of the IPMR Facebook profile

Meanwhile, when sought for his comment, incumbent Bukidnon 2nd District Congressman Atty. Jonathan Keith “John” Flores told BukidnonOnline.com that “it is their party. It is their right to select the candidates they wish to support.”

“In the end, it will be the people, in the exercise of their right, who will decide. It is the people, not the party or the personalities behind the party, who will decide,” Flores said.

Flores defeated BPP’s candidate in 2019, former Malaybalay City Mayor Ignacio “Inaki” Zubiri. Flores, the son of incumbent Malaybalay City Mayor Florencio Flores, Jr., was the official PDP-Laban candidate in 2019. This year, however, he has shifted to Nacionalista Party, which is allied with Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte’s Hugpong ng Pagbabago.

atty john flores proclamation
  • Photo of Congressman Atty. John Flores courtesy of Team Flores Facebook page
Use Facebook To Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copy Protected by Tech Tips's CopyProtect Wordpress Blogs.